Alphabooks: Y is for Your

Y: Your Latest Book Purchase

Since leaving college, there’s been less call for me to buy books: they aren’t needed for a class, I can typically borrow them from the library, and if it’s something I really love, I probably already own it.

This sums it up neatly.

This sums it up neatly.

But there are occasions when I can’t resist.  The last few things I’ve bought include:

Lingua Latina per se illustrata. Pars I: Familia Romana, Lingua LatinaGrammatica Latina. This was actually for an immersive Latin class I took last Labor Day weekend.  Instead of translating English to Latin and vice versa, it presents a number of pictures, graphs, and simple sentences to build one’s understanding entirely in Latin.

Hyperbole and a HalfHyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened. I love me some Allie Brosh, especially ~secret things~ that weren’t shared on her website. A lot of it is visible there, but hey, nice to not rely on an internet connection to look at it if I don’t want to. The book is of course hilarious, and (near the end) a bit deeper of an examination of human nature than I had expected.

The Blood of the Lamb: a novel. I totally bought this with one-click Blood of the Lambby mistake, and then didn’t cancel it. It looks interesting enough, though.

What book(s) have you bought lately?

3 thoughts on “Alphabooks: Y is for Your

  1. This is why I don’t like one-click…
    Most recently I bought The Discarded Image, by C.S.L. From what I understand, it’s his last book, and basically a lecture-series he gave as a professor on the Medieval worldview/cosmology. It’s one of his highly-scholarly, and so not very easy-to-read pieces, but really interesting so far.

    • It occurred to me belatedly that the last three things I’ve bought have all been Amazon purchases. So that leaves me wondering what I last bought in an actual *store* …

      ah, yes! I bought some Josephine Tey mysteries at a used bookstore near Fairfax, VA😀

  2. Pingback: Alphabetical Promptings | Egotist's Club

Leave a Reply

