Alphabooks: A is for Author

A: Author You’ve Read the Most Books From

I’d had the thought that, in order to keep myself from being too perfunctory about it, I’d avoid talking about books or authors I’d discussed in previous years.

So I sat awhile in uffish thought, before consulting GoodReads, my library checkout history, and my bookshelves.

All this to find that some things don’t change, and no one’s managed to shift my all-time favorites from being all-time favorites.  Especially not the champion of them all: C.S. Lewis.

Not pictured: Screwtape Letters and Surprised by Joy, which (shockingly) I do not own.

Not pictured: Screwtape Letters and Surprised by Joy, which (shockingly) I do not own.

From the Chronicles of Narnia, to his apologetics, to the Cosmic Trilogy, to his poetry and essays – I’ve read some 27 books of Jack’s, and still have a few more volumes of letters and essays awaiting me on my shelf.

Allegory of Love is at the bottom right.

Allegory of Love is at the bottom right.

Runners-up include Neil Gaiman (15.5, if Good Omens is ½ and the 10 sections of Sandman as separate volumes); Dorothy Sayers (13); Jim Butcher (11.5 at present); Orson Scott Card (11); Shakespeare (11 plays I’ve read; more that I’ve seen); and J.K. Rowling (10).

What author have you read the most of?

7 thoughts on “Alphabooks: A is for Author

  1. According to the same metric (Goodreads), C. S. Lewis also tops my “most read” list. The runner-up, amusingly, is “Kenneth Robeson”, the house name for the Doc Savage pulp story authors – it would be Tolkien, but -somebody- keeps listing his “Beowulf” and “Sir Gawain” translations under “Unknown”. Hmph.

    And anyway, that’s just for the past few years that I’ve been keeping track – if expanded backwards, the top would probably be Clive Cussler, though Jim Butcher would be right up there, too.

    • Hmph indeed! Although that brings up something I’ve been wondering: does it matter if the book was published posthumously? The material, in theory, would issue from the author…but without looking at the manuscript, it’s impossible to know how much the editor has contributed to, changed, or rearranged the original. That could make for some substantial differences! Especially considering that some 2/5ths of Lewis’s books were published after his death.

      Or what about omnibuses which collect prior works in a single volume? That would change my counts for Jack, Sayers, Chesterton, and probably some others.

      If I were to go back further, I imagine other comic authors would make a showing; there were a lot of Peanuts, Calvin and Hobbes, and FoxTrot books on my childhood bookshelves.

  2. After thinking about this for a bit, my author would have to be Terry Brooks. I’ve read his Sword of Shannara, Heritage of Shannara, Magic Kingdom for Sale (except for the last one), Word & Void, and Voyage of the Jerle Shannara series. I’ve even read his book on writing. Though, I feel that C. S. Lewis and Alexandre Dumas must come close. I don’t trust Brooks’s more recent works. He seems to have lost his touch during the Voyage of the Jerle Shannara, but I absolutely love the works he wrote prior to that.

  3. Pingback: Alphabetical Promptings | Egotist's Club

  4. It’s probably a tie between C.S.L. and P.G. Wodehouse.

    I made it! Now I really need to go do something else, but at least I won’t be wondering what your other posts are about. 😉 Sorry for the comment spam.

    • I need to read more Wodehouse! And read Wodehouse more – enough so I can quote Wooster at length, and Jeeves when appropriate.

      Yaaaay, you made it! And no apologies needed for the comment spam; it is in all ways delightful 😀

Leave a Reply

