Dilly-Dally

Typically when my sister muses leave me alone in the club too long, I start talking to myself and tend toward the confessional. That might yet happen this week, but first: yesterday’s festival of dill.

It could be said that this all really started back in May, when my housemates and I decided to have a somewhat formal tea. We prepared a couple different pots of tea, dairy-free coconut scones, and cucumber sandwiches in plenty. Thus my purchase of, and introduction to, fresh dill.  Prior to that, I’d only encountered dill as in a mirror, darkly: dried and faded and sprinkled on salmon. The fresh bundle was luxuriantly green and terribly fragrant in comparison.

Somehow yesterday demanded a reprise of that redolence, a reappearance of those feathery fronds. It is like having both delicate seaweed and a weeping willow inside one’s kitchen.

The first order of business was to mix some chopped dill into a bit of butter and a bit of cream cheese for English muffin purposes. That done, I decided to infuse a bit of gin with a few stems.

IMG_3310Then the requisite refrigerator pickles: some are garlicky, some are a little peppery, all of them are dilly.IMG_3313 After that, I still wanted to make something, but wasn’t quite up for baked salmon, borsht, or mizeria. Since the dill in the gin had only begun macerating…I grabbed a bit more dill, a bit more gin, and muddled them together. In went some lime juice and some liqueurs: honey, vanilla, ginger, and Chartreuse. The result was a bit like drinking in a sunlight field entire. It struck me as fitting; generally, smelling dill is like breathing in a forest and a field and the sea all at once.

IMG_3318What do you do with dill?

7 thoughts on “Dilly-Dally

  1. Fresh dill is great stuff. I just eat it sometimes, but I use it a lot with fish (of course) and cucumber sandwiches.
    I generally dislike alcohol (it’s a taste thing) but you make that dill drink sound very appealing… it even looks pretty.

    • Eat it straight? After the past couple days, I guess I am on board that train as well! One of my co-workers recommended dill pilaf, and detailed his recipe for a mayonnaise-free potato salad.
      ^_^ Thanks! I think I’ll make another tonight as I have another lime. Cecilia, my favorite guinea pig, enjoyed it more once we’d strained the muddled dill out; I suppose it improved the texture.

      • Not in salad proportions, but it is one of the best herbs to nibble on, alongside mint.

        Texture, perhaps, but I love the look of the dill bits in the drink. 🙂

Leave a Reply

