Culinary Ingenuity

At work, we have the standard Mr. Coffee Coffeepot. We also have a French press, which an associate brought in a few years back. She ostensibly brought it in so anyone needing an afternoon jolt, not a full pot of coffee, could make a quick cuppa. I’ve wondered since if she didn’t just want to unload an object taking up space in her home, as no one ever uses it to make coffee. The last time it was used as such was the time I grabbed still-warm water from the water-heater to make coffee during a power outage.

More frequently, I use the French press to bring the water-heater water to boiling point for tea. It probably resents me for being its only user and filling it with such existential angst (“Am I a coffeepot, or am I a teapot?  O, if my manufacturers were to see me now!  Alas”).

…less frequently, like today, I use it to boil broccoli, asparagus, or green beans for part of my lunch. It seems a bit odd, but it works better than microwaving my veggies, and hey, built-in strainer! I also maintain that it’s less odd than making salmon with a coffeepot, or bibimbop on a waffle iron, or grilled cheese sandwiches with a flatiron:

Do your circumstances ever call for cultural ingenuity?  Please tell me about it!

4 thoughts on “Culinary Ingenuity

    • I think the weirdest thing I’ve ever grilled was bok choy.

      Things I would never think to grill if the internet hadn’t suggested it (though I haven’t tried it yet): avocados and grapefruit.

  1. It makes me sad to hear that no coffee is made in the French Press, because, by golly, they make amazing coffee! The conventional coffee makers remove the oils from the coffee, which removes a lot of the flavor.

    However, I still appreciate your ingenuity and that list of waffle recipes is very intriguing…

  2. Pingback: Foodstuffs to Empty a Pantry | Egotist's Club

Leave a Reply

