Belated Acceptance Speech

It has come to our attention that We Have Been Nominated For An Award. Back in June. I humbly beg pardon for focussing on life in the real world for a while.

It is the “prestigiously obscure” Liebster Award, and we have been tagged by David at the Warden’s Walk. Thank you David! Apparently this award serves to raise awareness for the under-read but most deserving of blogs. Specifically, blogs that have under 200 followers and their own brand of awesomeness.

The criteria for fulfilling this nomination (and passing into the final round? receiving the award? who judges this?) are as follows:

  • Talk about ourselves
  • Answer the questions provided by the nominator
  • Nominate and provide questions for other candidates

On behalf of all the egotistical muses here, I appoint myself as the representative.  If my sister muses object, they will have to answer, nominate and query for themselves.

Without further ado:

De Noster

  • Melpomene: loves tasty words, scrapes the bowl for leftover bits of brownie batter, and crams old, big ideas into minds of the young, little students.
  • Thalia: loves interpersonal connections, thrills to the sound of certain musical cords, and coaxes the most real self out of everyone she meets.
  • Terpsichore: loves roots and beginnings, seeks understanding and cohesion, and creating foods, art, and awesome crafts.
  • Urania: loves well-told stories, finds perfect descriptions, and explores libraries like Indiana Jones.
  • Calliope: loves high mountains, quotes Aristotle and Chesterton, and prefers to cook over a campfire.

Together our combined powers form . . . THE EGOTIST’S CLUB, a place of silliness, random writings, and cheerful – if slightly spacey  – company. We are bound together by:

  • scotch
  • Lord Peter Wimsey
  • some connection to Hillsdale College
  • receiving (or having an interest in) a classical education
  • The Inklings
  • a healthy sense of the absurd
  • a deep longing for the profound
  • words
  • curiosity

The club was formed to be filled with deliberate pretension, (because all blogs are built some premise of pretension, ours is just more honest,) highfalutin antics, and force us to practice writing. Of late, most of us have been distracted by our daily adventures, and have been falling behind on communicating to our beloved audience. This is not likely to change very soon, but I do promise to try.

And our virtual absence does not denote a lack of activity: I am starting to publish my poetry, Thalia is writing children’s books, Terpsichore has been stoutly upholding this blog by herself, Urania is in her first year of a Ph.D. program, and Calliope is in her first year of teaching. It helps that we are all friends in real life, so we can keep up with each other.

David’s Questions

1. If you could choose one fictional creature to be your pet/animal companion, which would you choose and why?

Does Gurgi from the Prydain Chronicles count? I am never sure exactly what he is, but he is covered in hair and looks vaguely like a monkey. Gurgi is loyal, cheerful, and always focused on what really matters: crunchings and munchings.

2. Name a favorite moment of yours from any movie released in the 1980s and explain why.

When my friends put on 80s movies, I generally cringe and escape to the kitchen. I would actually rather do dishes than watch bad haircuts and cheesy plots. But I did a google search the best 100 movies from the 1980s, and came across 3 that are so timeless that I never associated them with that decade! Star Wars, Amadeus, and The Princess Bride: who would’ve thunk? So, a favorite moment. I can’t really choose between these 3 options, and each has one scene that immediately springs to mind and is iconic of that movie.

Star Wars: “Luke, I am your father.”***I was about 10 when I first watched this, and my brain went into overdrive retroactively connecting all the clues. And then I felt like an idiot for not figuring it out.

Amadeus: Upside down cross-handed piano playing. Still the most awesome party trick ever.

The Princess Bride: “Aaaaas . . . .youuuuuu . . . . wiiiiiiiiish!” while tumbling down a hill. Best love confession.

3. If you had to be chased by some hostile fictional creature or character, through a fictional landscape, which ones would you choose and why?

DRAGONS. Because dragons are awesome. I would die very quickly, but it would be worth it. The landscape has to Middle Earth: beautiful, varied, and filled with mystery. Also, in Middle Earth there is the possibility of Bard or Aragorn or Beren or Eomer or someone awesome saving me.

Unless . . .  does the universe of Doctor Who count as a landscape? How about Asgard? The images of space in both is stunning. I doubt a dragon could survive just flying around the stars,  but I am fine with being rescued by the Doctor or Tom Hiddleston.

4. In-N-Out, Five Guys, or Chik-Fil-A?

I don’t understand the question. Can I make my own food?

5. Name a song you really like from a musical genre you don’t generally like and explain why this one works for you.

I dislike most popular music. Not for any good reasons, I am afraid. I just dislike popular things in general. And I cannot respect ‘artists’ who use auto-tune, or have derivative and insipid lyrics. However, I discovered a cover band called “Postmodern Jukebox” that take popular songs and reworks them into older genres of music. For instance, “Thrift Shop” as a 1920’s jazz song! They recently tackled Katy Perry’s song “Roar”, which original I had thought to be . . . well, derivative and insipid. But Postmodern Jukebox’s version finds a Motown beat and soul in the song, adds a fantastic tambourine man, and rocks my socks off. Now I sing along even to the original song.

6. What is, in your opinion, the best portrayal(s) of the Elves/Fair Folk/Faeries in film? Multiple choices are permitted, but you must say why you think your choices are so good.

In film? I have not seen many of what I can consider Fair Folk in film. Peter Jackson’s Elves come close in The Fellowship of the Ring, but have since then become too bitter, selfish, and  . . . physically odd. (The way Galadriel in The Hobbit traipses around with her elbows bent behind her back make her look like a duck.) And most other elves either end up being too self-important or too ridiculous. (Like Santa’s elves in Rise Of The Guardians, for example.)

As for a more traditional representation, I believe the strange and dangerous creatures from Pan’s Labyrinth might be the best. They are both powerful and bound by that power, seriously breath-taking and terrible, and absolutely not-human.

7. What was the last black-and-white film you saw, and what did you think of it?

I just rewatched The Thin Man. It remains as delightful, clever, and charming as ever.

8. What did you think of the new trailer for The Desolation of Smaug?

I laughed, so that I would not cry. Seriously? Too much detail, and most of it false. It is distracting, and purposely emotionally manipulative.  Thranduil is twisted almost as badly as Elrond was! What is with the bland and shallowly profound she-elf? I intend to smuggle a flask into the theater, drink at every non-cannon occurence, and mock the movie mercilessly.

My Nominations

(Some may have already been nominated, in which case they may ignore all of this paraphernalia. Some may choose to ignore it anyway, which is perfectly acceptable.)

My Questions, Should You Choose To Accept This Chain Letter Liebster Award Challenge

  1. What leader (from history or fiction) would you follow into the very jaws of death? Why?
  2. Would you rather be an old-fashioned bard wandering around and telling stories, or a modern-day writer? Why?
  3. What musical instrument best communicates your personality? How or why?
  4. If you had a hedgehog, what would you name it, and why?
  5. If you could tell high school students one thing that would influence them for the rest of their live, what would it be and why?
  6. What is the very first book you would read aloud to your baby, and why?
  7. What are your thoughts on Disney acquiring Star Wars?
  8. What qualities of leadership do you possess?

Again, thank you to David for the nomination. I apologize for the delayed response. If do want to have fun with this and answer my questions (or David’s questions!) please link to your post in the comments below so I can read it!

*** The Pendantic Physicist and David have reminded me that the real line is “No, I am your father.” I remember it differently, but clearly I have not watched Star Wars in far too long.

4 thoughts on “Belated Acceptance Speech

  1. XD That tambourine man is fantastic! I love seeing people enjoying creating music.

    “The way Galadriel in The Hobbit traipses around with her elbows bent behind her back make her look like a duck” Gosh yes. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought that.

Leave a Reply

