Things of Awe

There is not enough giddy joy and absurdity in the world.

Well, there probably is, but it takes special eyes to see it. Thalia and I started this Club with the idea of training ourselves to look for that angle of wonder and adventure, but somewhere along the way it seems to have gotten slightly lost.

So, as a round-about way of getting back, I present . . . . AWESOMENESS!

Here are a few of the awesome things that I have seen or observed, online or in real life, in the past few weeks.

 

  • Last week I set my requirements for a personal library. I forgot to mention a slide.

Can you slide AND read a book?

 

  • Storm clouds are exhilarating. There is nothing like racing a thunders storm across the desert towards mountains.

 

StormyRoadCollage

 

  • Clouds are really strange and fascinating.

 

CloudsCollage

 

  • So are windmills.

WindmillCollage

 

  •  Armadillos.

IMG_20130706_115427

  • Grocery store cashiers can be pretty darling. They might be the new bar tenders psychologists, in a really short-and-sweet way. Have you ever found yourself moaning about something in brief to the cashier, and he or she moans with you and then encourages with a simple “You’ll be all right, sweetie!” as they hand you your bags and send you out the door? Oddly, I never see that same cashier again . . .

 

  • Carnivals. The kind that set up in grassy, abandoned lots, and that moms never let us go to when we are little. The kind that sways a bit in the breeze. They are amazing. I kicked my feet like a three-year old and was intensely glad that none of my students could see me.

CarnivalCollage

 

  • “Instagram”. I just discovered it, and the level of pretension inherent amuses me to no end.

 

 

  • Alcoholic juicy-juice! Well, alcohol in a little box with a straw like juicy-juice. This is apparently common in Korea, and it is called “boxed sujo”. Why have I never been to this magical country?

 

  • Star Wars, as it might have been written by Shakespeare. This is brought to us by the same people who did “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies”, so I reserve judgement. But the theory is the personification of awesomeness. As much as a theory can be a personification. Be quiet and go read the excerpt!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Things of Awe

  1. “Well, there probably is, but it takes special eyes to see it.” This, for sure. Fortunately, we can be trained, or train ourselves. It took me most of my life so far to have my eyes opened. So much time wasted!

    As for the wonder of cashiers, yes! I, too, rarely get the same ones, but not never. Not long ago I had a great encounter with one. She was wearing a lovely, delicate necklace made from a tiny vertebra flanked by tiny femurs, all cast in silver. I commented on it, and she brightened up like a lamp and said I was the first person who had recognized what it was. We had a brief conversation on the beauty of bones and how few people seem able to get past the morbid aspect of them to see the grace and wonder of them. I think they are among the most beautiful and wondrous things in creation. The conversation seemed to brighten the day for both of us.

    O_o I didn’t much care for P&P and Zombies, but I may have to give them another chance and read this Star Wars.

Leave a Reply

