Beau Hunting

I was chatting with my friend Maura yesterday, and she announced her intention of wedding the perfect man. Perhaps not an original plan, but a sound one, nevertheless. I followed her reasoning….
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Maura: Yeah, to someone just like Mr. Darcy, who will love me in secret… even though you say that’s not a good way for love to be….
Thalia: Ohmmm… that could be a difficult search. And I only object because secret love has so much potential for…..staying potential and never….. welll….. never becoming kinetic.
Maura: No, but see, it will become kinetic because, well let’s face it, I’m a doll and he’ll have to admit that he’s madly in love with me!
Thalia: HAHAHAHAHAH! goodus luckus… 🙂 As they never said in Rome
Maura: Now you see my plan!
Thalia: It is cunning. It is devious. It is masterful!
Maura: Yes it is!
Thalia: Teach me, oh wise one….
Maura: It involves a lot of eye contact, just like in Pride and Prejudice
Thalia: ah. That’s mostly eye contact. And a great deal of smooouuudering.
Maura: You’re right, oh observant one.
Thalia: Lots of wit, a smattering of spirited self possession, and heaps and heaps of eye contact.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
And then it hit me. Of course, it’s a noble art to study, that of obtaining a beau, but we were being silly. Or were we? It would seem, through this intelligent, if only half intelligible conversation, that we struck upon a vein of truth. Later, thinking it over, I realized that there is a great deal of human understanding and truth in Jane Austen.  Not just in the plots and the society and all the things people who make her their research project study. But in the….oh… the character of her characters. To ponder Elizabeth, and discern what it was that drew a good man to her. What about the personality of Jane was actually really appealing to … that funny looking dude with the blond curly hair. In great literature, you may trust the author to create people who act and react according to their natures and characters. What lessons Maura and I learn from this may not just be the frivolling of silly girls. Perhaps we too shall wed a Mr. Darcy. Or that other guy, whichever suits our nature better. (I hope the 21st century has shorn that sweet man of his bizarre locks. It would put me off my stride, and it would be sad to miss out on perfection because of a wierdly placed curl.)
11 thoughts on “Beau Hunting

  1. One of my Professors was writing an academic essay entitled “The Conversion of Mr. Darcy”. She was convinced that his change mirrored one of Christian conversion, and she made a good case for it, which I cannot remember right now,

    However, another part of great literature is to instill love and hope in the hearts of the reader. Kinetic love and hope. So however you set about hunting, Austen does have good advice. Just remember that you are only responsible for your own conversion, and you must not push your Mr. Darcy without his will!

    Which is why I prefer Captain Wentworth. Always and forever!

  2. Which movie version of Mr. Bingley has weird curly hair? I thought he was cute in the Colin Firth one. But then, I like curly hair.

    Best of luck with the Mr. Darcy hunting! 😀

  3. Aw, Bingley’s mess of curls is adorable.

    Austen’s mastery of human interactions is one of my favorite things about her writing. That and her dry sense of humor. It makes me peevish (to say the least) to see her work boiled down to “simple romance” stories.

Leave a Reply

