Tempus Fugit: Music for Monday

It’s October 15th, y’all.

I’m not sure what to do about that.

See, I typed “Mond” into Microsoft Word this morning so that it could auto-complete “Monday,” and then hit the spacebar and Enter so it could auto-complete the month and date.  Jolly good of it, because sometimes a girl just can’t keep up with the calendar; routinely I miss Tuesday turning into Wednesday and inevitably am bewildered by the arrival of Thursday.  Somewhere along the way, I blinked, and here we are at the ides of the month.

Last night I got back from visiting Ryan (I just saw him.  Well, in September) before going to a wedding (wasn’t I just at a wedding?  Oh, in June?  Ahh, yes) in Chicago (where I’d recently visited.  “Recently” meaning “in 2009”).  In 48 hours I’ll be leaving work to get on a plane to Sacramento, where I fully expect the days to fly off as leaves in the wind, and next Monday arrives as suddenly as a meteor is drowned again in darkness.

Sorry, sorry.  Originally I meant to be encouraging, but the closest I can get is putting on some tunes.  Here’s one from Bud Powell:

Or, if you are more encouraged by Super Nintendo music, as I am, have some Chrono Trigger; it, too, is much concerned with the passage of time:

Fret not, my friends.  Sure, the sands of time are swirling past you, but look on the bright side: it’s not like you’re Jasmine or anything.  Besides, in a matter of days it’ll be Christmas and you’ll catch a bit of a rest!

