Robbed

 

The night before my dad and I left Dallas, I was robbed.

My purse, book-bag, and other various items were taken from my car.

I was an idiot for leaving them in the car, of course. The car was already weighed down by so much that I thought no one would even bother to try to get the unwieldy and very heavy bookshelves and dresser from the back seat. And therefore they would bypass it entirely.

And so, like a Dufflepud, I tried to do something to save time. I hid my purse under the seat, and left my book bag open so potential thieves would see that it was only books.

 

Items lost:

  • wallet, containing –
    • license and other photo IDs (including all the school IDs from every college attended)
    • credit card and debit cards
    • AAA card
    • insurance card
    • checkbook
    • concealed carry licence
    • cash
  • passport
  • camera
  • emergency spare cell phone
  • book-bag, containing:
    • The First Days of School: A Guide for Teachers
    • The Heart of the World, by Hans Urs Von Balthasaar
    • The Well-Wrought Urn, by Cleanth Brooks
    • The Collected Yeats Poems
    • Good and Evil, by Yeats
    • A Vision, by Yeats
    • Our Secret Discipline: Yeats and Lyric Form, by Helen Vendler
    • The Man and the Mask, a Biography of Yeats
    • Beyond Byzantium, critical essays on Yeats’ later poems

 

Do you notice a theme?

Yep. I had packed every book that I need for my thesis in that book-bag, with plans to get some work done on the road.

The loss of my purse is annoying and time-wasting. And without access to my funds I would not have been able to make the move; thank God for my dad and his generosity.

And thankfully, the very valuable or dangerous items were buried under loose piles of books.

But it is the loss of my carefully chosen books on Yeats that troubles me. The books held all my notes, the passages I wanted to use were marked, and I knew every page intimately; each spine was worn from rereading and studying, and the margins were filled with my scribbles.

I am still upset.

Later that day, on road, dad read the Divine Office morning prayer aloud. And I realized – yet again! – that God has a sense of humor.

Psalm of the day:

1Why, O Lord, do you stand far away?
Why do you hide yourself in times of trouble?

In arrogance the wicked hotly pursue the poor;
let them be caught in the schemes that they have devised.
For the wicked boasts of the desires of his soul,
and the one greedy for gain curses and renounces the Lord.
In the pride of his face the wicked does not seek him;
all his thoughts are, “There is no God.”
His ways prosper at all times;
your judgments are on high, out of his sight;
as for all his foes, he puffs at them.
He says in his heart, “I shall not be moved;
throughout all generations I shall not meet adversity.”
His mouth is filled with cursing and deceit and oppression;
under his tongue are mischief and iniquity.
He sits in ambush in the villages;
in hiding places he murders the innocent.
His eyes stealthily watch for the helpless;
    he lurks in ambush like a lion in his thicket;
he lurks that he may seize the poor;
he seizes the poor when he draws him into his net.
10 The helpless are crushed, sink down,
and fall by his might.
11 He says in his heart, “God has forgotten,
he has hidden his face, he will never see it.”12 Arise, O Lord; O God, lift up your hand,
forget not the afflicted. (Psalm 10:10-12)

New Testament Reading:

I am not commanding you, but I want to test the sincerity of your love by comparing it with the earnestness of others. For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sake he became poor, so that you through his poverty might become rich.

10 And here is my judgment about what is best for you in this matter. Last year you were the first not only to give but also to have the desire to do so. 11 Now finish the work, so that your eager willingness to do it may be matched by your completion of it, according to your means. 12 For if the willingness is there, the gift is acceptable according to what one has, not according to what one does not have.

13 Our desire is not that others might be relieved while you are hard pressed, but that there might be equality. 14 At the present time your plenty will supply what they need, so that in turn their plenty will supply what you need. The goal is equality, 15 as it is written: “The one who gathered much did not have too much, and the one who gathered little did not have too little.” (2 Corinthians 8:8-15)

 

 

Alright God, I get it. Fine.  Have mercy on those who need so desperately that they steal. Do not begrudge them such a paltry share of my goods.

But, may I ask that they write my thesis for me in exchange?

 

 

Apparently my lesson was not sufficiently learned. After spending yesterday moving into my new place, I dropped off my rent check with my new land lady.

This morning, (after several very vivid dreams of having my place broken into, which I have never dreamed about before,)I got a call from the landlady.

Her office had been broken into and robbed. Guess what was taken?

My check.

Just my check. Nothing else.

Dear Lord, what are you trying to tell me?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Robbed

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your books – the the stealing of your rent check on top of that is just frustrating and facepalm-worthy!

    My mom has always said that when God wants to get our attention, He’ll shake our worlds til they rattle. I’ve always asked Him to be clear enough that I’ll get it the first time and He won’t need to shake me too hard.

    Still, when He does, and when I invariably ask, “Why?” or “What is it?”, the answer I usually get is “My Grace is sufficient for you.”

    Anyways, I’ll be praying that He works a miracle, and your book bag, at the very least, gets returned to you (checks can be voided and IDs replaced, but well-loved books are irreplaceable).

    • I can tell God is telling me something, I am just not sure of what! And that is all topped off by truly terrifying, vivid dreams. (I dreamed a man broke into my room and was coming for me last night.it took a full minute to force myself awake.) My new apt is nice, but I do not feel safe. If this is lesson in Trusting, why do bad things keep happening?

      Please do pray for me! I think I am going to need a great deal of Divine care!

      • There’s a prayer that I say both when I feel like I need guidance and when I feel like I’m under spiritual attack.

        “I bind unto myself today, the power of God to hold and lead.
        His eyes to watch, His might to stay, His ear to hearken to my need.
        The wisdom of my God to teach, His hand to guide, His shield to ward.
        The word of God to give me speech, His heavenly host to be my guard.

        The Mighty Three, my protection be.
        You are around my life and my home.
        O sacred Three, the Godhead be.
        Holy Trinity, surround me now.”

        It’s loosely based off of the song, “Encircling” by the Celtic band, Iona (gorgeous song, btw). It usually makes me feel better.

  2. Oh. My. Word. How awful! I’m so sorry that happened to you. The loss of all those textbooks, marked and noted… I’m not sure whether it breaks my heart or my head more.

    I will pray for you, too… hope there’s a miracle and things are found and returned.

  3. O_o
    You have my prayers, both for all to become clear to you, and for you to feel safe. You are under the best protection in existence, even if your things are not.
    But oh, for the books!

Leave a Reply

