Mathoms of a Monday

In preparation for this upcoming week, to enjoy the vestiges of freedom, sunshine, and swimming pools, have your dose of

 

Monday Mathoms!

Song: Rockin’ Robin, by the Jackson Five

 

Drink: The Meursault, at  Terpsichore’s Cocktail Phalanx

 

Food: Wilde Chicken Salad, from Melpomene’s A Bitter Cucumber

 

Humor: excerpt from Thalia’s “The Bug in my Violin” at Fountain of Wit

” . . . . I hid in the bathroom and called my mother. She says I have to put some pants on and confront my violin. She says I should shake the violin and listen for any exoskeletal buzzing. Then, if there is none, all is well. If there is, I should flee the scene, go to the movies and wait for my brother to come home and turn the evil ones out.I think I’ll do what she says.”

 

Poem: The Writer, by Richard Wilbur

In her room at the prow of the house
Where light breaks, and the windows are tossed with linden,
My daughter is writing a story.
I pause in the stairwell, hearing
From her shut door a commotion of typewriter-keys
Like a chain hauled over a gunwale.
Young as she is, the stuff
Of her life is a great cargo, and some of it heavy:
I wish her a lucky passage.
But now it is she who pauses,
As if to reject my thought and its easy figure.
A stillness greatens, in which
The whole house seems to be thinking,
And then she is at it again with a bunched clamor
Of strokes, and again is silent.
I remember the dazed starling
Which was trapped in that very room, two years ago;
How we stole in, lifted a sash
And retreated, not to affright it;
And how for a helpless hour, through the crack of the door,
We watched the sleek, wild, dark
And iridescent creature
Batter against the brilliance, drop like a glove
To the hard floor, or the desk-top,
And wait then, humped and bloody,
For the wits to try it again; and how our spirits
Rose when, suddenly sure,
It lifted off from a chair-back,
Beating a smooth course for the right window
And clearing the sill of the world.
It is always a matter, my darling,
Of life or death, as I had forgotten. I wish
What I wished you before, but harder.

Voila! Have a great week!

Love,

The Muses

4 thoughts on “Mathoms of a Monday

    • . . . . . . . . . . Whaaaa . . . . . . . . ?

      I am flabberghast.

      This might be the most stupendous/horrific mashup I have ever seen. Stevie Wonder, Johnny Cash, and Jackson Five? I love the all individually, but I do not think I can take them together!

      Although, speaking of shocking mashups, have you seen this one?

  1. Now I wonder if you really watched it, since Steve Miller and Stevie Wonder are… rather dissimilar.

    I had not seen that mashup, but being unfamiliar with both original sources, it was perhaps less shocking to me than to others.

    • What? Oops. I DID watch it. I promise. But for some reason my brain is not with me lately. I really did manage to think that that was Stevie Wonder singing “The Joker.” Weird. I do know the difference . . . . most of the time!

Leave a Reply

