Words to Win Her Heart: S. Morgenstern

Which lines of literature would win your heart?

We Egotists, in our infinite wisdom and our double X-chromosomes, selected this question with an eye towards waxing lyrical about two of our favorite subjects, books and romance.  I thought it should be easy enough to answer.  After all, I already know what music (yet another form of poetry) would completely do me in:  Chopin, preferably a nocturne, though that etude in E could get the job done, too.  Or the first movement of Rachmaninoff’s second piano concerto (I barely restrained myself from proposing marriage to the student who played it with our college orchestra).  With my even greater love of literature, I should be able to pick a few lines that would win my love, right?

And yet I struggled to think of any romantic lines of poetry or literary declarations of love from my favorite books that I’d want to hear.  But I’m not a great poetry lover, and so many of the romantic lines from books are so tied to their characters and contexts, that though they make me go all melty inside when I read them, they don’t have the same power outside their stories.

Thus, instead of the great trove of sappy romantic sayings I expected to collect, I have just one.

As you wish.

Readers, you all know that it really means, “I love you.”  And that’s just it.  It doesn’t matter so much what Beloved says, but what he means.  I don’t really want to be wooed in the words of Beren or Faramir or Romeo.  In the wisdom of Bollywood, “Beloved, you are different.”  While there’s nothing wrong in employing the words of the great authors (I assure you, I’ll still appreciate it), I really think I most want to hear it in words that are Beloved’s own, and which may not mean “I love you” to anybody but me.  And then, because actions speak louder than words, I’ll bowl him down a hill.

 

10 thoughts on “Words to Win Her Heart: S. Morgenstern

  1. That’s it. I officially can’t answer this meme for myself. No idea what I’ll do. I don’t even feel cheated that you changed your response from what you told me earlier, since this is so much better and more real. In fact, it’s so real that it brings back a very bittersweet memory connected to this phrase. Maybe, some other time, I’ll tell that story of when I used it.

    Heh, the problem with you girls answering this meme topic is now that any guy who dares to actually use said lines on you runs the risk of being accused of unoriginality! But you sidestep that problem quite well with your concluding paragraph. One of the best things you can do is encourage a guy to be sincere, whether or not he’s eloquent.

    • I actually was going to do the blog post I told you about: I sat down to write it, and then this started coming out and I decided to go with it.

      Well, luckily for me, “as you wish” is pretty basic Stuff Doni Likes 101, so any guy who knows me at all could come up with it on his own without my accusing him of cribbing. Now, I *will* be suspicious of men trying to play me Chopin’s Etude in E.

      • When you asked me earlier whether I ever played Chopin, I thought “Oh yeah, Chopin’s really good, I should probably find some of his music again.” Now I’m wary! But I’ve tons of old music I want to dig out and play now, and lots of new music. I need to get back into practice.

      • Haha, okay. Chopin’s among those composers that I know are really good and pleasing to listen to, but that I haven’t paid quite as much attention to as I’d like (I know I’ve played him, but I can’t name a piece from memory). If this Etude in E is as good as you say, I won’t ignore it; depends on what sheet music I find. Gotta get back to my scales first, though. So much to learn and relearn!

        (I do generally love nocturnes, whoever they’re by. Even “Harlem Nocturne“)

  2. I have more words, now, to comment with. It has not been easy to find them, but I am victorious, for the moment.

    The thoughtfulness of this post puts me to shame. I am glad of it, though.
    I smiled to see you mention Chopin. I am not sure his music could win my heart, but it certainly has some mystic power over me. A cd of his Nocturnes, beautifully played, is the only cd of piano-music I own.

  3. Pingback: Conclusion « Egotist's Club

Leave a Reply

