Epic Meme Saturday: What Lovely Names!

Oh, cruel world!

There are so many wonderful characters that, character-wise I would love to name my children after, yet I would feel so guilty saddling a child with such a name.

I love Barney Snaith from L.M. Montgomery’s book The Blue Castle, but after that strange purple and green giant dinosaur thingy, I don’t really think I could do it!

Or Arthur from The Shadow of the Bear! But I don’t think I could quite bring myself to do that either. That name carries so much extra weight.

Or there are some names that I like, and I like the character, like Marek Sixfinger in The Hollow Kingdom, but I don’t think it would be a good idea to name a child after a goblin. There is something that is rather insulting about that . . .

But there are two names and two people I would feel very good about naming my children after, Lucy and Edmund from the Chronicles of Narnia! They are good a virtuous children, despite some rough spots in the beginning, but if I were child I would be proud to be names after them! They are everything that a child needs; courage, love, enthusiasm, and all the little things that go into the fostering of a person that is a joy to know. And they have what every adult needs: a child-like attitude towards life!

I might have a little bit of a problem with the name “Edmund” because it can really only be shortened to “Ed” which in America is . . . I don’t know . . . redneck? But ‘Edmund’ is so romantic! And ‘Lucy’, from Lucia I think, means ‘light’, which I think would be a lovely thing to be named after.

Plus, if I named my children after Edmund and Lucy Pevensie I could say to them whenever they were thinking of being bad, “’Once a King or Queen of Narnia, always a King or Queen of Narnia,’ so uphold you dignity as one!”

11 thoughts on “Epic Meme Saturday: What Lovely Names!

  1. Lucy and Edmund are my choices, too!
    I like Arthur, but I agree – that would be a heavy name to bear. And someone would call him Art or Artie, and that wouldn’t be cool.

    • I so sad about Arthur, it means “Bear” too which is really cool, but I don’t think that would be a good name to give to some poor unsuspecting boy. He would have to be very strong the handle it!

  2. I feel like Arthur would have been an acceptable name, had it not been for that PBS show about an aardvark. Siiiigh….

  3. I don’t know that I would consider “Ed” redneck, but I would be worried about how many Edwards are going to be running around in the next few generations, alas! Good names, though, I agree.

  4. These are excellent namesakes, for sure. I’d never name a boy Edmund, though, as admirable as the character is. To my ear, it’s too close to Edward, but nerdier and more British, which is not something a boy wants when he’s in elementary or junior high school. Edward is okay, though. Plenty of kings with that name, without it being seen as too snobbish. And while Ed is a very familiar, laid-back nickname, it’s not necessarily redneck. It can be, but it doesn’t have to be. Also, Ed from the webcomic Digger is one of the nicest fictional characters you’ll ever meet.

    Lucy is a very pretty name! At times it suffers from oversaturation, I think, being one of those perpetually familiar names in general. But I don’t hear it too much these days, and it is very nice-sounding. And Lucy Pevensie is, naturally, one of the best females in literary history, though oft overlooked.

  5. Pingback: Conclusion « Egotist's Club

Leave a Reply

