Taking Up the Brush (Again)

In the fast-receding days of college, I took a few art classes: Drawing 101, Graphic Design, and (my favorite) Watercolor Painting.  When the painting class ended, I had several paintings of varying quality, tubes of paint, a mixing tray, several more brushes, and 5 big sheets of 300-pound paper.*  The lot has languished sadly beneath my bed, until I pulled them out this weekend to see if I could recall any technique.**

Thalia encouraged me to post the results, so…um…it’s her fault.

It's hard to tell, but these are the same person (in the fun-house mirror of my ineptitude); since faces are my weakest weakness, I figured I'd tackle them until I improve. Guess which one was done in half the time of the others when I got tired of sitting on the floor.

This is my rendering of the cover of Berry's Life is a Miracle. I might almost remember how this whole watercolor thing works.

*So called because 500 of the sheets will weigh 300 pounds.
**What I most certainly did not forget is the importance of taping down the edges of the paper to keep it from buckling too badly.  The funnest part of any given painting is ripping off the tape.

10 thoughts on “Taking Up the Brush (Again)

    • ^_^ Thanks!

      Perhaps once I’ve figured out how faces work, I’ll do another version with some facial detail….we’ll see…

  1. Hey, these are pretty good! Better than I can do, for sure. Watercolor is a challenging medium. I am impressed by the first two faces (faces are particularly hard because we know, so well, what they should look like that every flaw stands out to us), and the first one has a very neat composition.

  2. ….that ballerina really is lovely. also…i didn’t see the hummingbirds done. Can’t wait…also also… it’s Kristen, isn’t it? As long as I’m right, you’re not doing to shabby! 🙂

      • (what does it say about my workday if I have already begun planning the composition of such a combination?)

        (Will your violin be at home before you are?)

Leave a Reply

