Heroes Wear Green

At least, my favorites do.  Green is my favorite color, and I realized recently that it’s also the signature color of several key heroes of fiction.  This color makes sense for these guys, as they do seem to spend most of their time running about in forests, and therefore are in need of camouflage.  Thus, green is stylish AND practical.  What more can you ask for?

Robin Hood

Disney's vulpine outlaw will probably always be the quintessential Robin Hood in my mind.

Though Michael Praed in Robin of Sherwood is poised to be a lasting favorite for me, too. It's likely because he *does* look rather like a wood elf.

Mr. Hood really ought to be everyone’s childhood hero.  Honestly, no childhood is properly complete without idolizing, (and if you’re a girl, being a little in love with) the swashbuckling outlaw who plies a bow with perfect accuracy.  How essential is the livery of Robin and his Merry Men to the legend?  Well, just the phrase “Lincoln green” is enough to conjure visions of chivalry, romance, and adventure!

Legolas

Legolas as portrayed by Donato Giancola. He's perhaps a little non-traditional looking for an elf, but I think that's why I like this portrait.

The elven member of the Fellowship is first described in The Fellowship of the Ring as “a strange Elf clad in green and brown.”  I imagine the camouflage effect is particularly important in Mirkwood, where the last thing you want is to be eaten by giant spiders.  (It’s dark in there, you say, and spiders might be color-blind anyway?  Don’t question my paranoia!) If you know me at all, you’re aware I’m crazy about wood elves.  I think half of it is that I love their woodsy garb.  Enough that I’ve actually spent significant money on a wood elf renaissance faire costume.  No, I may not be idolizing Orlando Bloom any more (thank the Valar!), but I’m still a dedicated fan of the wood elf mystique.

Link

Out of all the games, Link's look in Twilight Princess is my favorite. I love the muted color tones! And he gained a mail undershirt that he still wears in Skyward Sword.

One of my favorite heroes of any genre, Link is, of course, the protagonist of the long-running Nintendo series Legend of Zelda.  (A bit of trivia for you: the Zelda games and I are the same age.  What can I say?  1986 was a good year.)  While in some of the earlier games, Link wears his signature green tunic and long floppy hat from the very beginning, in the more recent games, such as Twilight Princess and Skyward Sword, Link begins by wearing the traditional garb of his village.  Once you’ve proven yourself worthy of your quest, Link receives the uniform of the Hero of legend, which marks him as the one chosen by the great goddess to save the kingdom of Hyrule.  It’s always a thrilling moment when Link transforms from the farm boy to the handsome hero in his suit of green.

2 thoughts on “Heroes Wear Green

Leave a Reply

