One Fish, Two Fish

As I creep to the end of the semester – and it is not quite finished for me yet – all I want to do is curl up in a corner, pile some big, fluffy blankets over me, and sleep.

And once I am lucid enough to awake from my coma nap, I want to sing pretty words, and listen to the rise and fall of voices and flow of sounds, and not worry about how much sense they make or what meaning I should be deriving from them.

Unfortunately, I need to study for my comprehensive exams.  Do you think Dr. Seuss will be on the exam? That would be nice. I intend to reread all of Dr. Seuss over break!

Dr. Seuss seems to be undervalued these days, and the man whose rhymes “worked like a karate chop on the weary world Dick and Jane” – as the back of my Horton Hears a Who book said – is replaced by boring less interesting tales about children who need to let go of their security blanket.

Are there any new books that can compare with this?

“When beetles fight these battles in a bottle with their paddles
and the bottle’s on a poodle and the poodle’s eating noodles…
…they call this a muddle puddle tweetle poodle beetle noodle
bottle paddle battle.”

If there are, please direct me to them. I need nonsense in my life.

And, more importantly, I need the poetry!

What Dr. Seuss does is not just give children delightful story, but to give them a sense of rhythm and meter and rhyme! His work creates an awareness of the sounds of words, the feel and flow of language.  Almost every sentence of every Seuss book is imbued with a delight and joy in words! These are building blocks not just of an appreciation of communication, and an understanding of beauty!

I think that Chesterton would approve of Seuss. He would enjoy the sheer fun and linguistic romp through Seuss’s world.

And, as Dr. Seuss himself said,

“I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living, it’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of a telescope.”

3 thoughts on “One Fish, Two Fish

  1. Wow really cool post. Found it by chance when I was looking in the philosophy corner but reading your most made me smile and I do not even know why. I particularly like this:
    “I need nonsense in my life.”

    It has a sense of poetry on its own. Thank you for sharing

  2. As much as I love Seuss, my tongue fails me. I have tried, and tried to read his work to the kids around me, and my tongue ties itself to my uvula. Alas!

  3. Pingback: Proclaiming Who’s Who « Egotist's Club

Leave a Reply

