Yo-ho, yo-ho, a pirate’s life for me!

Ahoy to ye all, salty sea dogs and lubbers alike!  This be the sixteenth year of talkin’ like a pirate, accordin’ to the official website, though the day really took off in 2002 with Dave Barry’s column about it.

Thus far, I have donned me favorite hat, greeted me cap’n and mates at work in most jubilant fashion, and made sure me hearties on Facebook avoided bein’ limy wenches and scurvy scalliwags who speak like landlubbers and end up bein’ keelhauled.  Then I set me sails f’r the point across the pond* to find some pieces of eight, rum rations, and other booty to bring back to the company.  There’s been time to feast between me sips o’grog, and it seemed fittin’ to give ye all some resources f’r makin’ yer speech more piratical.

Here be a lad showin’ how to prepare the voice, salutations for those of other stations, sentence structure, use of arrr, and examples.

Here be the classic Disney song detailin’ the demands and diversions of pirate life:

Practice “We’re rascals, scoundrels, villains, and knaves; Drink up me hearties, yo ho!  We’re devils and black sheep and really bad eggs.  Drink up, me hearties, yo ho!”

Here be the Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything, discussin’ both the pirate-y things they don’t do and the unpirate-y things they don’t do:

Lastly, a reminder that even land lubbers should keep a keen eye on the horizon, lest a pirate make off with their hay:

‘Tis a fine day fer talkin’ like a pirate, me hearties!  Be ye bilges flooded?   I must hie me t’ countin’ the company treasure and tally up our take of booty!

*”Pond” here referrin’ to a road covered in water by the day’s showers.

2 thoughts on “Yo-ho, yo-ho, a pirate’s life for me!

  1. Oddly, I’d never listened to “The Last Saskatchewan Pirate” before, even though I’ve seen it referred to (at least one other place other than here yesterday alone!). It’s pretty catchy, actually.

  2. This a great post for an oft forgotten holiday. I’ll admit that my favorite of the videos was the “Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything.” Larry the Cucumber was my hero when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

