Things O’ Joy

This summer, I lost my mind.

Leaving aside the debatable point about whether I had a mind in the first place, it was a busy summer. I did three semesters of Latin in 10 weeks.

And worked full-time.

I tried to write on  this thing. I tried to scrounge around the recesses of my dimly lit brain for some idea – any idea – but my page remained blank.

All the energy I could muster went into cooking and keeping my place in something resembling clean.

Aside the from the doses of vegetables and Firefly, there were a few other things that kept my interest in life and happiness alive.

 

  • Sparkling Apple Juice. I know, nonalcoholic is lame, but it is sweet and tangy and goes perfectly with the wandering verbs of Livy.
  • Watching the Jive.
  • Getting off work and realizing that I have the next day completely free. Free to sleep ALL that I want.
  • Celebrating said freedom by staying up past 2am reading.
  • Ordering books online. For school, of course.
  • Watching the Cha-Cha
  • My newly discovered love for singer Miriam Makeba.
  • Midnight swims. Under a full moon.
  • Jive. Really, completely amazing.
  • Discovering fun new fruits and vegetables by means of the Farmer’s Market co-op.
  • Cha-Cha with a sense of humor.
  • Yulia Zagoruychenko has become one of my new heroines.
  • Ordering books online. The ones that might be of use in my thesis.
  • Receiving large boxes of books.
  • Daydreaming about the fun I used to have playing in boxes.
  • Wishing that I had an excuse to order a refrigerator, just so I could make the box that it came in into a play house.
  • Realizing that I have my own house apartment in which to play. Why do I need a cardboard box?
  • Charlie Chaplin. Dancing the samba.
  • Ordering books online. For the good of my soul. Hans Von Balthasaar makes me swoon.
  • Painting my play-house apartment.
  • Making creme brulee as a bribe to make lure others to help me paint.
  • Ordering books. I just want more books.
  • Indulging myself for my birthday and going to Half-Price Books. And buying many books.
  • Seething with fury that ALL of Lewis Carroll books were relegated to the children’s section. People!
  • Compiling a mental list of The Sins of Secular Book Stores: 1.) placing the poetry soft covers right next to the “erotica” soft covers. 2.) possessing such a thing as a “horror book” section. 3.) Not possessing a “logic” section.  4.) Possessing only one copy of John Donne, and that an insipid half collection complete with a stupid new age commentary. 5.) NOT ENOUGH LEWIS CARROLL!
  • Paso Doble. With stunning moves.
  • Receiving books from my parents for my birthday. I got The Big Book of How Things Work, replete with funny drawing of woolly mammoths to illustrate every physics principle from simple levers for vacuum cleaners. This book fascinated me in my childhood, and seems almost more magical to me as an adult.
  • Doing silly silly things, and giggling to myself. For instance, I watched one of the Twilight movies. I am not sure which one, but there was much mumbling of lines, shirtless werewolves baring abs, and pathetic plot twists. It was hilarious.
  • Buying books. Because books make me happy.
Livy is finished, my week or two off of school has ended, and now we are diving back into the full load of fun graduate school!
Bring it on.
One thought on “Things O’ Joy

  1. “I’ve still got ten Galleons,” she said, checking her purse. “It’s my birthday in September, and Mum and Dad gave me some money to get myself an early birthday present.”
    “How about a nice /book/?” said Ron innocently.

Leave a Reply

