How To Open A New Book

One of the most amusing things behind the scenes here at The Egotist’s Club – aside from the finger pokes and proddings of “YOU write a new thing! I am too busy!” traded betwixt the muses – are the interesting stats that show up.

We can keep track of which websites somehow lead viewers to us, and other fascinating items that we did not even know that we were curious about. For instance, did you know that the most searched word on our site is “tadpole“? Followed closely by “polliwog” and “bowsprit cracked with ice”?  Hmm . . . . what to do with this information?

But at times these detailed statistics can lead me to brave new discoveries! Today’s Adventure in following back links has led us to . . . . .

Ahem. Actually, it led to a beautiful website called The Last Straw of Hope. Which I could pour over for hours.

(Can one ‘pour over’ a website? That verb seems to imply lying on one’s stomach under a table or desk perusing very large books with incredible drawings. Usually involving dragons. The drawings. Not the ‘pouring over’.)

Anyway. My deep and abiding love for gorgeously bound books having been already established, this site must have been made just for me. It is a collection of photos of books, libraries, artwork concerning books, books in piles, books made into works of art, more libraries, libraries with secret doors, bookstores with book-doors, adventures, glory, and BOOKS!

And the occasional detailed instruction as to the best means of approach to a book, such as pictured above. It is like the official naturalist’s narrative; “Crikey! Here we have a real life wild book in its natural environment! Observe how they cluster together near the empty coffee cup . . .  these must have been attracted  to the abode of the local graduate student!”

The titles of a few of the books pictured are particularly intriguing as well. Is that . . . . . . “One Thousand Thoughts for Funeral Occasions”? (Italics are mine. Just in case you do not see that interesting bit on your own.)

Leaving aside the fact that I had not known the word “funeral” could be an adjective, what sort of saying would be collected for just that type of occasion? And how can there be one thousand of them? My mind . . . . it boggles!

I am not sure how someone found our ever so humble club from this stupendous and fun collection. But I am grateful. Now I have more things to do when I should be translating Livy . . . Ahhh!

Too. . .  many. . . pretty.  . . books! Now if I could just find a beautiful copy of “Sylvie and Bruno,” my life summer would be complete!

4 thoughts on “How To Open A New Book

  1. I’m having a Pygmalion moment (or, given my current preoccupation with George MacDonald, an Anodos moment). I am falling in love with some of those beautiful bound books pictured at that website, and find myself wishing one could transform into a young woman. In fact, now that I mention it, that would make a fascinating story…*scribbles in notebook*

    The Site Stats page always fascinates me. The search that brings me the most traffic is “pilgrim’s progress” (533 hits since the beginning), though ironically my Pilgrim’s Progress review has no comments. Tons of people search for “peter pan” and even “neverending story.” I’m very happy that so far 8 people have found me by searching for “crazy happy.” Another 3 people found me through a long quote from “The Dream of the Rood” in the original OE. Nothing quite as whimsical as “tadpole” or “polliwog,” I’m afraid. Perhaps I need to step up my whimsicality.

    Do you ever get referrers from Google Translate? I’ve gotten more of those recently; people reading my site in Spanish, Turkish, etc. It’s fun to wonder.

    Also, while I am generally very careful about opening books, I think I should try to be moreso.

  2. You have made reading a book an act of love! It is beautifully written and enjoyed, but life is waiting to be loved out of books as well. A word to the wise.

  3. In news related to search terms but not books, I just learned that “kecebong” means “tadpole” or “chitchat” in Indonesian.

Leave a Reply

