Since Feeling Is First

since feeling is first

who pays any attention

to the syntax of things

will never wholly kiss you;

wholly to be a fool

while Spring is in the world

my blood approves,

and kisses are a better fate

than wisdom

lady i swear by all flowers. Don’t cry

– the best gesture of my brain is less than

your eyelids’ flutter which says

we are for each other; then

laugh, leaning back in my arms

for life’s not a paragraph

And death i think is no parenthesis

e. e. cummings

As we wind to the close of our first ever Meme Challenge, I realize that this has been far too self-relevatory. My flaws and arrogances, soulful inclinations and weary discipline have been on display. Not to mention my misspellings and mixed up grammar.

But then a friend reminded me of this poem that was often quoted in my undergrad, I remember that perhaps revealing all my mistakes can be a virtue. Thank you, E.E. Cummings.

4 thoughts on “Since Feeling Is First

  1. Just as long as you don’t write things with titles like “r-p-o-p-h-e-s-s-a-g-r.” Love Cummings though I do, I have trouble forgiving him for something so unpronounceable…and it feels dishonest to go “Oh, you know, the Grasshopper Poem,” especially if you try reading past the title. He’s like the argument against reading aloud…

    (and perhaps a better argument than kisses for playing with syntax)

    • There is a better argument than kisses? The intuitive turn of the heart? Unfortunately, (actually quite fortunately,) for the soul one must both heart and mind on the same page. Whenever possible. The syntax of humanity . . . . but still, death is no parenthesis.

Leave a Reply

