Book Meme: ‘Psichore’s Day Twenty-Three

The Book Meme Challenge: A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t

Of course there is more than one book which I’ve wanted to read but haven’t.  There are many more than are on this list, and still other books which I would love if I knew to seek them.

In the meantime, two lists.

The first makes me sad, since it is comprised of books I own that have been waiting patiently on their shelves for me to love them:

The Life of Samuel Johnson – Boswell
The Philobiblon – Richard de Bury
Troilus and Criseyde – Chaucer
The Everlasting Man – Chesterton
Cleanness / Patience – the Pearl Poet
The Hunchback of Notre Dame – Hugo
Moby Dick – Melville
Leisure, the Basis of Culture – Pieper
Unabridged William Shakespeare – Shakespeare, obv.
The Gulag Archipelago – Solzhenitsyn
The Crystal Cave, the Hollow Hills, The Last Enchantment – Stewart

Then there are the ones I don’t own and haven’t tracked down yet:

Watership Down – Adams
I, Robot, et al. – Asimov
Persuasion, Northanger Abbey – Austen
The Last Unicorn – Beagle
Dandelion Wine – Bradbury
The Secret Garden – Burnett
Books of The Dresden Files – Butler
The Adventures of Don Quixote – Cervantes
Irish lore and legends – ed. Dunnit
Undine – Fouque
Anansi Boys, Coraline, et al. – Gaiman
Redwall et al. – Jacques
Three Men in a Boat – Jerome
Castle in the Air, House of Many Ways, The Tough Guide to Fantasyland, et al. – Jones
The Man Who Would be King – Kipling
Phantastes, Lilith, et al. – MacDonald
Le Morte d’Arthur – Mallory
Doctor Zhivago – Pasternak
The Lightning Thief – Riordan
The Witch of Blackbird Pond – Speare
The Faerie Queen – Spencer
Tristram Shandy – Sterne
The Hiding Place – Ten Boom
Daddy Long-Legs – Webster
The Once and Future King – White
Carry On, Jeeves, et al. – Wodehouse

But perhaps in the coming months I shall return to this list, and remember what I was looking for, and read every one.

In books I find the dead as if they were alive; in books I foresee things to come; in books warlike affairs are set forth; from books come forth the laws of peace. All things are corrupted and decay in time; Saturn ceases not to devour the children that he generates; all the glory of the world would be buried in oblivion, unless God had provided mortals with the remedy of books.

8 thoughts on “Book Meme: ‘Psichore’s Day Twenty-Three

  1. Long lists! And much overlap with me. I bought the Merlin series by Mary Stewart a few years ago on the recommendation of a professor of Arthurian studies at St Andrews. I was talking to him about Rosemary Sutcliff after a class and he excitedly mentioned Stewart as the best modern Arthurian writer he knows. Still haven’t read them, though.

    Watership Down is wonderful, amazing, and haunting. The effect it has is The Lord of the Rings for rabbits, with all the majesty and horror and pathos that implies.

    The Last Unicorn is on my reading list, having been recommended my various sources. Looking forward to it.

    I reviewed Undine! That was my very first review, actually, and I should probably redo it eventually, since it isn’t up to my current standards. But the story was excellent.

    Great lists! So much to read, so little time…

  2. Yay! I strongly suggest “Watership Down” and “Witch of Blackbird Pond”. You have very good lists. Hmm. Also, I need to reread “Leisure”.

    This Meme is turning to be mush more self-revealing than I ever thought it would. I feel like I am baring my literary failings or arrogances to the world. How . . . er, fun?

  3. Do read “Everlasting Man.” It’s really, really, really amazing. And “Leisure” is really good, too, though it’s not by GKC, so it can’t be really X3.

    I keep meaning to read “Phatastes,” but never get around to finding a copy … I wonder if it’s online? But if you are interested in Arthurian legend, I rather prefer Tennyson to Mallory – just a personal thing, I suppose. But if you haven’t read it, I’d also suggest the annonymous “Quest of the Holy Grail,” transl. by P. M. Matarasso, one of the old sort of “original” Arthurian tales. Good stuff. Last year, I had an entire class on Arthurian legend, with my fav prof – absolute academic bliss.

    Oh, and — Jeeves. An absolute MUST. Esp if you’re a fan of Wimsey. The Wimsey/Bunter relationship is absolutely hysterical in comparison to the Jeeves/Wooster. Bunter is, perhaps, not quite as domineering or, say, bossy, as Jeeves, but most emphatically just as delightfully brilliant and encyclopedic and butler-ish. 🙂

  4. Wait. You have never read Wooster and Jeeves? or Redwall? Oh my dear, what fun awaits you. I kind of want to be there while you reading, just so I can enjoy your giggles. And you reading the funny parts out loud.

    Also, the Sayers/Wodehouse exchange is quite humorous: at one point – in Murder Must Advertise, I believe – Peter is described as being “exactly like Bertie Wooster,” and in one of the Mr. Mulliner stories Sayers is mentioned as a pre-eminant author.

    • I’ve read approximately two Wooster and Jeeves stories, and no Redwall at all…sad days, I know. They shan’t last forever, though.

  5. Terpsichore, Phantasties and Lilith was a favorite of mine. It got me into allegories in a big way and deepened my understanding of the spiritual world. It is worth reading.!!!!!
    ~Melpomene’s mom

  6. Pingback: Semi-Obligatory Self-Improvement Scheme « Egotist's Club

  7. Pingback: Why I Haven’t Read That Book Yet: The List | Egotist's Club

Leave a Reply

