Book Meme: Mel’s Day Twenty-Three

Book Meme Challenge:

A Book That You Have Wanted to Read For Along Time But Still Have Not

I, Melpomene, swear to someday practice the will-power and time-management that will get my act together enough to read all that needs to be read.

Well, read all that is possible to read in one life. While working. And being a human being. And retaining a bit of brain power. (Since I have little brainpower to begin with, that last criteria is more crucial than it sounds.)

So, all the books that I have read really fast, skimmed, or otherwise simply need to reread.

The Aeneid, Virgil
The Illiad and The Odyssey, Homer
Plutarch’s Lives
The Divine Comedy, Dante
The Scarlett Letter, Hawthorne
Madame Bovary, Flaubert
Don Quixote, Cervantes
Crime and Punishment, Fyodor Dostoevsky
Michael Strogoff, Jules Verne
Shakespeare (Those I have read.)
Lord Jim,
Joseph Conrad
Morte D’Arthur,  Malory, Sir Thomas

And then there are the books that I have been too lazy to get around to reading. This list should be a heck of a lot longer, but at the moment I shall only deal with the ones that I want to read within this year. So help me God.

Summa Theologica, Thomas Aquinas
Nicomachean Ethics, Aristotle
Gilead
, Marilynne Robinson
Ship of Fools, Katherine Anne Porter
The Idiot, Fyodor Dostoevsky
Dialogic Imagination, Bakhtin, M.M.
Ender’s Game, Orson Scot Card
Shakespeare (Those I have not yet read.)
Tom Jones, 
 Fielding, Henry
Something of Faulkner

This is just a preliminary list. Really, ought to start a real in earnest list of books that I must read. Hopefully, posting it here will give me the pressure needed to get going on that. What are your recommendations?

Leave a Reply

