Book Meme: Mel’s Day Seventeen

Book Meme Challenge:

Favorite Quote From Favorite Book

No! I refuse! This is a silly challenge; different occasions require different thoughts! So on what basis can I choose a ‘favorite’?

If I wanted to garner praise I would stick solely to the Bible, (the Greatest work of Literature,) but the truth is that there are many books – and quotes – that have formed my understanding of life, love, myself, and God. I will not choose between them. I rebel against the Meme!

Also, again with trying to spoil the surprise of my all-time favorite book! Do you really want me to give it away just yet? (Not that it will be much of a surprise . . .)

Therefore, this going to be a list of quotes that I love, from literature that I love. They are favorites either because they inspire me towards God, or help me through circumstances, or help me to make decisions, or are just beautiful, or make me think, or make me laugh.

You may draw your own conclusions about them without my commentary.

“I have come to set the world on fire, and how I wish it were already ablaze.” ~ Luke 12:49

“If you were who you are meant to be, you would set the world on fire.” ~ The Letters of St. Catherine of Siena

“By wisdom a house is built, and by understanding it is established; by knowledge its rooms are filled with rare and beautiful treasures.” Proverbs 24:3-4

“I am glad to recognize that when we love God our heart expands, and we can give incomparably more tender love to those who are dear to us than when our love is selfish and barren… Love is fed by and develops from sacrifice. The more we deprive ourselves of natural satisfaction, the stronger and the more disinterested our love becomes.” ~ Therese Martin, The Story of  Soul

“But the effect of her being on those around her was incalculably diffusive: for the growing good of the world is partly dependent on unhistoric acts; and that things are not so ill with you and me as they might have been, is half owing to the number who lived faithfully a hidden life, and rest in unvisited tombs.” ~ George Eliot, Middlemarch

“Joy, which was the small publicity of the pagan, is the gigantic secret of the Christian. And as I close this chaotic volume I open again the strange small book from which all Christianity came; and I am again haunted by a kind of confirmation. The tremendous figure which fills the Gospels towers in this respect, as in every other, above all the thinkers who ever thought themselves tall. His pathos was natural, almost casual. The Stoics, ancient and modern, were proud of concealing their tears. He never concealed His tears; He showed them plainly on His open face at any daily sight, such as the far sight of His native city. Yet He concealed something. Solemn supermen and imperial diplomatists are proud of restraining their anger. He never restrained His anger. He flung furniture down the front steps of the Temple, and asked men how they expected to escape the damnation of Hell. Yet He restrained something. I say it with reverence; there was in that shattering personality a thread that must be called shyness. There was something that He hid from all men when He went up a mountain to pray. There was something that He covered constantly by abrupt silence or impetuous isolation. There was some one thing that was too great for God to show us when He walked upon our earth; and I have sometimes fancied that it was His mirth.” ~ G. K. Chesterton, Orthodoxy

“Somebody should tell us, right at the start of our lives, that we are dying. Then we might live life to the limit, every minute of every day. Do it! I say. Whatever you want to do, do it now! There are only so many tomorrows.” ~ Pope Paul VI

“The poet only desires exaltation and expansion, a world to stretch himself in. The poet only asks to get his head into the heavens. It is the logician who seeks to get the heavens into his head. And it is his head that splits.” ~ G.K.Chesterton, Orthodoxy

“For, don’t you mark? we’re made so that we love
First when we see them painted, things we have passed
Perhaps a hundred times nor cared to see;
And so they are better, painted—better to us,
Which is the same thing. Art was given for that;
God uses us to help each other so,
Lending our minds out.” ~ Robert Browning, “Fra Lippo Lippi”

“It is requisite for the relaxation of the mind that we make use, from time to time, of playful deeds and jokes” and “Drink to the point of hilarity.” ~ Thomas of Aquino

“He sought her ever, wandering far
Where leaves of years were thickly strewn,
By light of moon and ray of star
In frosty heavens shivering.
Her mantle glinted in the moon,
As on a hill-top high and far
She danced, and at her feet was strewn
A mist of silver quivering.” ~ Tolkien, The Lay of Beren and Luthien

Individuals aren’t naturally paid-up members of the human race, except biologically. They need to be bounced around by the Brownian motion of society, which is a mechanism by which human beings constantly remind one another that they are . . . well . . . human beings.” ~ Terry Pratchett, Men at Arms

“No one who had ever seen Catherine Morland in her infancy would have supposed her born to be a heroine.” ~ Jane Austen, Northanger Abbey

“What are men to rocks and mountains?” ~ Jane Austen, Pride & Prejudice

“Revolutions always come around again. That’s why they’re called revolutions.” ~ Terry Pratchett, Night Watch

5 thoughts on “Book Meme: Mel’s Day Seventeen

  1. The ones of Pope Paul VI and Saint Catherine are just wonderful! But, I think Saint Augustine also deserves a place in the collection:
    Sero te amavi, pulchritudo tam antiqua et tam nova, sero te amavi! et ecce intus eras et ego foris, et ibi te quaerebam.
    Late have I loved you, O Beauty ever ancient and ever new! Late have I loved you! And, behold, you were within me, and I out of myself, and there I searched for you.

    • YES! And I forgot that oft-quoted but still great line of Augustine’s; “My heart is restless until it rests in You.” Thank you!

      Ahh! Too many sayings to live by!

  2. I just stumbled onto this blog a few days ago but I’m amazed by how much I have in common with all the authors, but you in particular. A lot of these same quotes would be on my short list.

  3. Pingback: Book Meme: Mel’s Day Twenty-Four « Egotist's Club

Leave a Reply

