Day 9: A book I thought I’d hate

This happens to me a lot. Perhaps this whole Book Meme thing is too revealing of character. Just like no book makes me cry…. and other such revelations. I don’t know. If you don’t mind, I’ll continue burdening you with parts of my life.

I think everything is suspect until proven worthy. Art. Music. Literature. Teachers. Other people. You are on probation. Now, I want to believe in you, but you have to win me over.

So there are lots of books to choose from here.

I think the funniest and most poignant of these examples is the incident from my early teens. My brother went wild over this book while I was in Europe. I was 12, and at the height of my young pomp. My brother assured me in the most glowing terms that I would love this book. I probably poo pooed him. I loved him, but didn’t show it well. I thought he was rather earnest and silly compared to my glorious 12 ness. He spoke of the lordliness, of surpassing beauty. He waxed eloquent on the gripping peril and stirring courage.

He told me the tale of The Lord of the Rings. I assumed I wouldn’t care for it. Who would call a leading lady Galadrill anyway? (his pronunciation was…curious).

I thought I’d hate The Lord of the Rings.

Hi, my name is Thalia. I’m a critical silly person…. Hi Thalia…

2 thoughts on “Day 9: A book I thought I’d hate

Leave a Reply

