Epic Meme Saturday: An Apocalyptic End to the Meme

If it was truly the end of the world I would not bring a book, that would be pointless as I shall have no need of it, either being in Heaven and experience the Beatific Vision which is better than anything word can give, or I shall be in Hell, and I don’t think I would really care about books in Hell…

However, the end of the world, the end of technology, the end of how this culture perceives life, an Apocalypse, would call for a very special book indeed. It would have to be foundational to what is good about our culture, it would have to exemplify what it means to be human, and contain the foundation of Christianity. Well, I think the only thing that really does that perfectly is the complete works of St. Thomas Aquinas.

St. Thomas wrote a massive amount, both of philosophical, theological and poetical. He wrote this hymn;

Pange, lingua, gloriosi

Corporis mysterium,

Sanguinisque pretiosi,

quem in mundi pretium

fructus ventris generosi

Rex effudit Gentium.

Sing, tongue, the mystery

of the glorious Body

and of the precious Blood,

which, for the price of the world,

the fruit of a noble womb,

the King of the nations, flowed forth.

Such beauty truly belongs to man as human and as children of God! St. Thomas is called the Angelic Doctor for a reason and his lucid prose is a joy to read. (Though due to modern understandings of words it can be a bit hard to get used to.) Plus, I am sure that throughout his entire library of work the great saint quote the entire bible, new and old testament, so that is an added happiness! Hmm… lovely.

Although it would not be the easiest thing to read as a the world as we know it is crumbling apart, I think it would be the thing that I most want to preserve.

5 thoughts on “Epic Meme Saturday: An Apocalyptic End to the Meme

  1. It wouldn’t be the easiest thing to carry around, either. You’ll want a suitcase… or a Kindle. :) It’s a good choice, though. You’ve got the core of Western understanding with you then.

    I love the Pange Lingua. It’s one of my favorite hymns, and best with the old chant melody. My husband and I have cantored it on Holy Thursday some years.

  2. Definitely not the easiest to tote around, but there are enough people in my family to lend a hand.

    They would all survive I think…. :D

  3. A kindle wouldn’t be helpful for very long, as it eventually needs electricity. I am ashamed to say that the writings of St. Thomas are largely unknown to me. I mean, I know they exist, but I have not read very much of them. I wish to, though, and your mention has reminded me how much I wish to.

  4. Pingback: Conclusion « Egotist's Club

  5. Aye, they’d be difficult (the entire Summa Theologica is heavy enough itself, and probably more than enough for one person to carry in a stack!), but worth it. I’d bring the Bible first, of course, but if we had a few extra slots for spiritual works, Aquinas would be among them, as would Augustine, and Luther, and Calvin, and John Bunyan, and Lloyd-Jones, and J.I. Packer, and Spurgeon, and…oh, let’s just get a few semi trucks and load them to the ceiling with books, shall we? We shall. The Truck Library, it will be called, after the end. If we can still find gasoline, as it exists in the Mad Max movies, after all, then we can drive the Library around to the enclaves of survivors, spreading learning and culture as we go.

    Hm, now that I think of it, that’s not a bad idea for a story…

Leave a Reply

